So the last couple days we've been sorted into classes. As I mentioned in the last post, I had to write an essay, and take a short, simple interview, as well as a straightforward test to see where I'd go. I got into the bottom of the three JSL classes, but it doesn't really bug me because I know I don't do all that well at all and I get better every day anyway. I also think that if me and the three others got the lowest scored, even if they weren't that bad, we'd have to be in the lowest class. So it doesn't so much mean we suck, just that we're not as good as everyone else here, which was already fairly obvious.
Anyway, after all that, there was an official welcome party, held at the Center for International Programs, which involved the staff members, the teachers, and the Chubu University Peer Support (CUPS) students. Food. Soda. Good. Everyone had to give "speeches". Really just an introduction, but I was terrible anyway. The Koreans are really good.
I've also finally applied for my foreigner card. It's required to get on within 90 days, and I have to carry it with me at all times. If a cop asks for it, and I don't have it, and I've been here over 90 days, I'll be arrested. The application involved riding a bus to Kasugai City hall, signing two things, paying 300 yen, and waiting for 3 hours. Of course there were about 9 of us applying, so individually, it may have taken much less time.
That night (3/31), a few of us went into the woods to find a temple. It actually happened to be the temple I found during the day just this week. It was still interesting. Very creepy. I will track down some pictures sometime. It reminded me of Fatal Frame II. That game scares the hell out of me.
Was that just last night? Today we got the results of the placements test, which I've already talked about above. Hmm... Well, after we found out, we split into our respective classes, got our schedules, and were given orientation sessions by the teacher who would be teaching us first next week. We also applied for the JLPT August. I decided to wait and take it in December. 1.) Because it's kind of expensive and 2.) it just doesn't really mean that much. The biggest point made in that link is that if I can manage to apply and interview for a job in Japanese, why would I need a certificate to tell you I am proficient in Japanese?
After all that, we kinda split up around campus, but met in CIP to get some papers needed to purchase cell phones. However, that requires payment using credit card or Japanese bank account, or post office account. So I'll be getting something in the next few days. With the student discount, the basic plan is free for 36 months, the basic data plan is free for 36 months, and there's some sort of discount plan also applied so that the data packet charge starts at certain amount and can never go over a certain amount. With the student discount, it starts at zero and I don't get charged until a certain amount. Cell phone hours are virtually opposite of America. You get free, within-network calling during weekdays, and are charged nights and weekends. So all I'm really paying for are a phone and activation fee. I would also be paying for a charger (yes, it doesn't come with the phone), but we have some spare phones and chargers in the dorm from previous students who don't need them outside Japan, and all this company's phones use the same chargers.
So that was pretty much today. I looked at some bikes. Didn't like any of the rentals available, and I really want my own shiny new bicycle. They did look nice, but between $150 and $200 means I can wait another month for my next scholarship payment.
After we got back, I walked with Joe through the club fair again. He finally found the computer club, and I finally went to look for the karate club. Still never found them, but found a graduate practicing. He took some information and said he's pass it along. On my way back, the kyuudou club go ahold of me and I finally got to go try it out. For some reason I had to aim really low and to the left to hit the target, but it worked and I got a few bullseyes in the 30-45 minutes they let me shoot. I would really enjoy joining this club, but I also want to see the karate club. The Judo club is a bit too brute force for me, but maybe. Of course, they weren't very inviting when I was around the dojo. I have no idea what kenpo is like; apparently it's probably kung-fu. Aikido is high on the list, of course. I've always admired it. I'd join them all, but dammit, there's no time! I also haven't found any sword school, but I'd jump right on that! Oh, crap, there's supposed to be a kendo club...
To describe the environment of the first week, when the clubs gather in the center of campus and set up tables and hand out flyers and do whatever it is they can to get your attention, I will draw from what I said to a friend: "You have any idea how rabid the clubs here are? They're all advertising themselves to the freshman right now. There's a huge crowd in the middle of campus pushing flyers on anyone walking by. I saw a guy in a Tony Tony Chopper costume! And another in a Pikachu costume! And I have no idea why!" So, yeah, I also described this a bit in the preceding post, so look if you missed it.
So gosh, did all that, came home, at dinner. Did my usual thing, studied, watched some videos on ニコニコ動画, and waited for the girlfriend to get online. She was having trouble figuring out how to put the bedding together, and from her description, I would too. I've just been watching some stuff online and decided to skip ahead to the latest stuff that's been happening, because trying to remember older stuff to write is getting harder and harder to do and I just don't really want to, though I always feel about writing about the latest happenings. Why fight it?
じゃ、それだけです。明日また!
Point about being in the lowest testing group: YOU are in Japan for free on a scholarship=YOU win.
ReplyDeletehow did you know that you re in lowest group?
ReplyDeleteThey posted the results outside the Japanese learnimg center. Levels W1, W2, and W3, going down just like the JLPT.
ReplyDeletehmm
ReplyDeletemust check it out tommorow