There's an ongoing debate in language learning (read: geek) circles over whether you should experience a massive amount of input before trying to say anything, or to start speaking as soon as possible. While I lean toward the latter, I have a feeling that they both meet somewhere in the middle. They both have good points, and I think they're just slightly mis-expressing the same thing.
So, the point on the side of NOT waiting that has bugged me throughout my entire shower time tonight is: how freaking hard is it so say "domo arigato"? I mean, really! EVERY American knows how to say "domo arigato"! I don't even know who Styx are, but I'm certain I knew those two words by the time I was nine!
So look! You can already speak Japanese! So why wait to use it if the opportunity presents itself? Wanna learn more? Here's how you ask for a hamburger: "han(like Han Solo)baww(like a baby)gaa(same thing) koo(like the clan)daa(like dog)sigh" Again,
Han (Solo) baww(ing baby) gaww koo(ky) daw(n) sigh
han baa gaa koo daa sigh
Then what do you say when you get your hamburger? Yes, it's
domo arigato (mister roboto)
See, this is all it takes to just get started! You can already order a hamburger! And quite often you can just swap the word for whatever you want with hamburger! And it all works the same! Words not working? Point at pictures! Use hand signals! Become a mime! Communicate!
You've been doing it for years. One new sentence won't kill you.
I mean, why, why on Earth would you wait to put this to use?
I was going to throw some background info on the debate down here, but I think the first two links probably cover it pretty well, and might even make my blog a waste of your time. Hmm...
Some sidenotes:
This is just sad. I hear he also did poorly in his first conversation (perfectly normal) after wasting 2 years of his life to "prepare" for that conversation.
And today, after writing a page long self-introduction (more than I've ever had to write) IN JAPANESE and WITHOUT A DICTIONARY, I took an interview IN JAPANESE, and after I left, I shied around the club fair before calling myself an idiot and going back and walking through the crowd to grab a bunch of flyers. I got to see lots of the clubs here and had a few interesting conversations. People were literally lining up to give me flyers. They do this to everyone, of course, but that's the thing! I was one of everybody! And as for the essay and interview, I just did what I could and didn't worry about what I couldn't!
And heck, my first week here, there was a day that was a national holiday (spring equinox), and I wasn't sure if dinner was being served or not. I could have either gone upstairs to the cafeteria to see, or asked the old couple that rule our dorm. I decided to throw caution to the wind and give asking them a go. I looked up what I needed to say, went up to the front desk, and just said it. Turned out dinner was being served. But asking about it was a thousand (at least) times more fun and rewarding than "just going to see for myself."
I cant wait to get there.
ReplyDelete